Themes / Cancer Biology

Cancer Biology

Human biology deviating into uncontrolled cellular growth.

Cancer Biology Research Team

Amosy M'Koma, M.D., MS., Ph.D.

Associate Professor
School of Medicine

(615) 327-6796
amkoma@mmc.edu

Ann Richmond, PhD

Professor of Cancer Biology, Cell & Developmental Biology, and Medicine
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Ann.Richmond@Vanderbilt.edu

Amos Sakwe, PhD, MSCI

Associate Professor
School of Graduate Studies and Research
Center for Women's Health Research

(615) 327-6064
asakwe@mmc.edu

Dana Marshall, MS, PhD, FSSCI

Associate Professor
School of Medicine

(615) 327-6549
dmarshall@mmc.edu

Harold L. Moses, MD

Professor, Emeritus Director, Vanderbilt-Ingram Comprehensive Cancer Center
Vanderbilt University

Hal.Moses@vanderbilt.edu

James Cade, DDS, FACD, DABOM, FAAOMP

Associate Professor
School of Dentistry

(615) 327-6360
jcade@mmc.edu

LaMonica Stewart, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
School of Medicine

(615) 327-6749
lstewart@mmc.edu

Richard L. Martin, III, MD, MPH

Assistant Professor of Medicine, Center Co-Director and Medical Director of Meharry Sickle Cell Center, Co-Director of Clinical Oncology Trials Network
School of Medicine
Sickle Cell Center

(615) 327-5894
rlmartin@mmc.edu

Samuel Evans Adunyah, PhD

Professor and Chair
Department of Biochemistry and Cancer Biology

sadunyah@mmc.edu

Subodh Nag, PhD

Assistant Professor
School of Medicine

(615) 327-6926
snag@mmc.edu

Cancer Biology Team Publications

Establishing a Cohort and a Biorepository to Identify Biomarkers for Early Detection of Lung Cancer: The Nashville Lung Cancer Screening Cohort.
Lakhani DA, Chen SC, Antic S, Muterspaugh A, Cook C, Liu N, Shujat H, Jouan S, Winston B, Fields K, Wenstrup J, Block SL, Hinton A, Miller A, Atmajoana S, Helton JT, Patel K, Balar AB, Brewer K, Nag S, Singh R, Disher A, Huerta L, Fremont R, Rickman O, Chen H, Eisenberg R, Sandler KL, Paulson A, Walker RC, Shah C, Smith GT, Landman B, Deppen S, Grogan EL, Aldrich MC, Massion PP

Astrocyte-specific deletion of the transcription factor Yin Yang 1 in murine substantia nigra mitigates manganese-induced dopaminergic neurotoxicity.
Pajarillo E, Johnson J Jr, Rizor A, Nyarko-Danquah I, Adinew G, Bornhorst J, Stiboller M, Schwerdtle T, Son DS, Aschner M, Lee E

KDM5B Is Essential for the Hyperactivation of PI3K/AKT Signaling in Prostate Tumorigenesis.
Li G, Kanagasabai T, Lu W, Zou MR, Zhang SM, Celada SI, Izban MG, Liu Q, Lu T, Ballard BR, Zhou X, Adunyah SE, Matusik RJ, Yan Q, Chen Z

Phase II Study of Immunotherapy With Tecemotide and Bevacizumab After Chemoradiation in Patients With Unresectable Stage III Non-Squamous Non-Small-Cell Lung Cancer (NS-NSCLC): A Trial of the ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group (E6508).
Patel JD, Lee JW, Carbone DP, Wagner H, Shanker A, de Aquino MTP, Horn L, Johnson ML, Gerber DE, Liu JJ, Das MS, Al-Nsour MA, Dakhil CSR, Ramalingam S, Schiller JH